“The Future Is Cao!”

Something tells me the GOP won’t be singing that tune anymore:

U.S. Rep. Anh “Joseph” Cao, R-New Orleans, said Wednesday he is likely to vote for the economic stimulus bill when it comes to a vote, probably today or Friday, even if he is the only Republican member of the House to do so.

“I’m voting along what my conscience dictates and the needs of the 2nd Congressional District dictate, even if I were to be the only member of the GOP to vote for the stimulus package,” he said.

“Even though it is going to be a humongous bill, even though we will be in debt for years, I believe that more likely than not, I will vote for it because the 2nd Congressional District needs a stimulus package.”

More power to him.  I still think Cao will be defeated in 2010, but I certainly hopes he turns out to be a reasonable Congressman until then.

