FL-SEN: Crist Out, Sink Out, Gelber In

Florida Governor Charlie Crist is saying no to a 2010 Senate run:

Charlie Crist was on 970-WFLA this morning (Our weekly Political Connections show seems to be the only media show he won’t talk to) and was asked about the prospect of Mel Martinez stepping down before his term is up so Crist could appoint a successor. “I don’t think that’s very likely,” Crist responded, going on to say that while he’s flattered to be recruited for the Senate by NRSC head John Cornyn, he prefers sticking around Florida.

[Emphasis added]

Florida Chief Financial Officer Alex Sink is also sitting this one out:

“Over the past several weeks, I have given serious and careful thought to my own future and, more importantly, to the future of our state. And I am extremely grateful for the support and advice so many friends and fellow Floridians have shared. I believe my skills and abilities are of greatest use here in Florida, where I am honored to serve as Chief Financial Officer. And I will run for re-election as Chief Financial Officer to continue being a fiscal watchdog on behalf of the people of Florida,”

So, neither party’s top-tier candidates (Jeb Bush for the Republicans and Sink for the Democrats) is running. Who does that leave?

We know Democratic Congressman Kendrick Meek is running, and now he has a primary opponent in State Senator and former Minority Leader Dan Gelber.  For the Republicans, we’re still waiting for the first candidate to jump in.

