McCain & Spain

Transcript from Raw Story, emphasis mine:

INTERVIEWER: Senator finally, let’s talk about Spain. If elected president would you be willing to invite President Jose Rodriguez Louis Zapatero to the White House, to meet with you?

McCAIN: I would be willing to meet with those leaders who are friends and want to work with us in a cooperative fashion.

And by the way President Calderone of Mexico is fighting a very, very tough fight against the drug cartels. I’m glad we are now working with the Mexican government on the Merida Plan, [Note: the Merida Plan involves Mexico and Central America; Spain is not involved in the least] and I intend to move forward with relations and invite as many of them as I can, of those leaders to the White House.

INTERVIEWER: Would that invitation be extended to the Zapatero government? To the president himself?

McCAIN: Uh, I don’t, I, ya know, I, honestly, I have to look at the situations and the relations and the priorities. But I can assure you, I will establish closer relations with our friends and I will stand up to those who want to do harm to the United States of America.

INTERVIEWER: So you have to wait and see. If he’s willing to meet with you, would you be able to do it? In the White House?

McCAIN: Well, again, I don’t — All I can tell you is I have a clear record of working with leaders in the hemisphere that are friends with us and standing up to those who are not. And that’s judged on the basis of the importance of our relationship with Latin America and the entire region.

INTERVIEWER: OK, what about Europe? I’m talking about the president of Spain.

McCAIN: What about me what?

INTERVIEWER: OK. Are you willing to meet with him if you are elected president?

McCAIN: I am willing to meet with any leader who is dedicated to the same principles and philosophy that we are for human rights, democracy and freedom, and I will stand up to those who are not.

Honestly, I have no idea what’s going on with John McCain. It looks like:

  1. John McCain doesn’t know who Jose Zapatero is.
  2. John McCain doesn’t know if Spain is an ally or enemy of the United States.
  3. John McCain thinks the interviewer is talking about Latin America (even though Spain and the President of Spain are specifically mentioned several times).

Now, I bet most people probably don’t know who Jose Zapatero is or what our foreign policy is in regards to Spain.

But you know what? John McCain isn’t most people–he’s running for President of the United States.  Not knowing one of America’s major allies, a member of the Coalition of the Willing, is a pretty big deal–especially for someone who always talks about his foreign policy ‘experience.’

John McCain just doesn’t know what he’s doing, and I wouldn’t trust him anywhere near the White House.

